Council Minutes 1847-1857


20 Feb 1847-28 Dec 1857

The volume is central to the development of the Institution's rules and practices and includes the original meeting attended by James Edward McConnell (in chair), Alfred Cowper, William Buckle, William Cowper and the first President George Stephenson (Robert Stephenson was the second). Discussions cover; technical literature, the Great Exhibition (1851), Engineering Department at Queen's College Birmingham, the foundation of our Library, possible Royal Charter and committee appointments. Attending members included Werner Siemens, Henry Maudslay and Sir Joseph Whitworth. From 1848 Finance Committee minutes are included.


sheet of 364

Double click/tap page to open full screen

Text Selection
Text Popup
Full Screen

Double click/tap page to open full screen

Select Page
Previous Page